top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHarsimran Singh

Rent, Food, Shopping & Jobs

Updated: Oct 19, 2019

Rent, How can I find a apartment, How to get a job, Where I am going to find the Indian spices, Any body from Delhi in the college?





Welcome to my blog. I know everyone who lands in Canada have similar questions as I had in my mind while I landed here, but don't worry that much because your family, friends, teachers will help you out in each level, from assignments to job and much more.

“ Prince George, British Columbia, Canada . A city full of different cultures, language, people and more to know ”

Talking about the my job, I am currently working as a line cook at Montana's BBQ & BAR and I love to go for shopping as I have a craze about shoes, My favorite outlet is Foot Locker Canada which is in Pine center mall


Experience Till Now In Prince George, BC, Canada


Accommodation, Transportation & Nearby

The place where I am currently living have all major things nearby which person needs.

Five minutes walk to college and 15 minute walk to Spruce land Mall where the area have all the shops nearby like Dollarama, Scotia Bank, Save on foods and Sikh temple near to that area.

Talking about the transportation, We got the bus pass sticker from our college and the time difference between each bus is half hour from Monday to Friday and 1 hour on Saturday & Sunday. From my point of view Prince George govt. should think more about bus facilities and timings.


Jobs & People

There are a lot of job opportunities here in the city but you need to find it by own, because as a personal experience no one will spoon feed you. You have to search jobs online on indeed and also by providing your resumes at different stores and restaurants in the city.

People over here are more helpful and are always there when you need any kind of support in study material, assignments, shopping etc.


Everything About College, What Course I chose, Student Support And Things Which I Didn't Liked

As a hotel management graduate, I chose Post Graduation in Tourism and hotel management which will help me to learn more about tourism industry. College of New Caledonia is one of the best college across Canada to study this program because of its subjects and extra curricular activities and the fees of the college is good comparing to other colleges in Canada.

Student union is always there when you need help because there motive is to help students like us who have just landed in this new country and not only us but they also organize events for students. Talking about my class mates, every one is from different states of India and some are even from Vietnam and Korea and fun part is that they all are just same like us.

Things which I didn't liked here was some changes which were done by this city law:

1) Increase in the price of medical card.

2) Increase in the price of insurance of vehicles.



Personal Experience

New in the town ? Try to follow these tips:

1) Always go alone to give your resume at stores or any place you are looking for job.

2) Don't trust on weather as you never know when it is gonna rain.

3) Eat healthy and stay fit .

4) Winters, Oh boy wear clothes properly because you don't want to fell ill.


Last thing, always have Faith in your self and god is always there for us.


Summary

In short you are never away from your home because your friends are your family and this city has a lot of beautiful places including lakes, mountain treks and forests.

Before coming to Prince George I thought this place is very small and it was like a small town, Yes it is small but any one who gonna visit this place will be going to love this place.

Talking about advantages and disadvantages, this city has helped many international students to settle here and is still the government is helping the new students too.

Talking about threats, I haven't seen any miss happening here till yet but what god knows. So be safe obey the rules and regulations .



290 views2 comments
bottom of page